Blacklfy poor detail

Hello,
I’m located in France, near Geneva in Switzerland.
My telecine for Super8 consists of
Blackfly bfly u3 13s2c (1288X964_global shutter)
Hall sensor to trigger
Rodagon 50mm 2.8
old super8 projector
led
software is Spinview (mac) or Flycapture (pc)

The trigger works well, I can capture at around 15fps with no dropped frame
But I am not happy with the quality of the pictures.
Not a lot of details, poor dynamic range, very contrasty when capturing in tiff format

Do you think a higher resolution camera (2k or 4k) will increase the details and sharpness?
Thanks

I’ve also found the TIFF image capture to be low quality.
I’ve been told to capture as a raw format, then use OpenCV with a python script to convert those raw files into TIFF files.
I’m still very new to it, so I can’t be of more assistance I’m sorry. Hopefully when I understand it further I can share.

I am using the 2K camera on the universal Mkii, and experimenting with the spin view software to have more control

Thank you.
I’ve also captured in raw format then converted to dng but it’s the same, not much details…

Have you contacted Flir support?

Hi @fabutch have you tried adjusting the gamma setting? I found that gave me a much better scan in terms of image quality.

Yes and they were not very helpful.
They even told me “I think to properly use our cameras you should find someone who can do some programming for you or use third party software.
SpinView itself is meant to be used for camera evaluation, not really in a productive environment.”
I think I could get better help with real users :slight_smile:

Hi Projectionist,
I can’t change the gamma setting, it is locked. In Spinview and FlyCap
Which software do you use? How do you do that please?