Rage Against the Drivetrain

Hi all. After a few frustrating nights working on installing the new motors, I tore it all down and tried something new. I’d love your feedback on it. Please leave comments here or in the YouTube comments section. Here is preferred so we can add links/pics, etc.

As always, thanks for your input!

5 Likes

simplicity is a long term solution.
the more complex it is i believe the less people will get involved.
If anyone want to make it complicated they have all the info available.
Cleaning roller or wet gate is a must.
Sound is also very important.
So please go ahead and finalise the project so we can start building our scanners.
The idea it to have a simple low cost scanner available to everyone.
Just finish it as the ideas and opinions will never end

5 Likes

Yay, simplification! I have to be honest, though I am a programmer I haven’t dove into the Raspberry Pi/Arduino worlds yet, so I am unencumbered by technology. As a mechanical engineer, I may be one of the unwashed that you speak about that could find the Kinograph “unhackable.” Or at least unreachable as I would have to invest a lot of time and brainpower to learn new operating systems and programming languages to get an even barely working result.

I come to this also thinking that the very cameras that were used to capture the film that we’re desperately trying to preserve, were themselves almost completely mechanical devices. Some were devilishly complex to achieve what they did, but the basics are pretty simple. Granted, we have the luxury of cheap digital machines now that can help us in a myriad of ways, but there is always a learning curve, that for some of us that may outweigh the benefits.

So, I default back to looking for simple mechanical systems that can achieve most of what I want, that as you say, just work.

Motor with a simple speed adjustment knob makes sense.