The Backlight

It is mentioned that an RGBW LED array is better for the backlight where the color of the backlight can be adjusted. In practice, is there any advantage in having a color adjustable light source.?
Thanks.

Good question. I’ve wondered about this too. If the LED is a pure white and the camera is white-balanced properly, shouldn’t the natural colors of the film come through accurately?

I have no experience in this part of the design so I’m definitely looking for others to help fill in the knowledge gaps.

I’ll start by saying that the color spectrum of the back-light is important. To make an extreme analogy, you could eliminate the back-light altogether and capture using a night vision camera, but obviously the results would be terrible. So to a lesser extent, that is the case when we rely on electronics to make corrections. Begin with an image that is projected in a form that is as close to the desired result as possible, then “tweak” it via electronic means if necessary, but the goal should be to minimize the amount of post processing, and I would even include the color balance feature on your camera as a form of “post processing”. Some amount of post processing may be desirable (e.g. to clean up or even sharpen a dull image), though when you do that, you want to provide as much original information as possible from the native image.