Build Phase 1, section a - Motor Assembly

Based on this post, where I outline the build phases.

Here’s a video showing progress on this section. Would love your feedback! ANyone plan on building along with me?

Matthew

PS - Captions have been added but are only available in English. If you speak another language and would like to translate these, please let me know and I will give you access. It would be a great service to everyone!

Awesome video Matthew, I love the spindle improvement. We are committed to the lazy susan mounts for our first build but will watch your progress closely.

We’ve cannibalized two of our non-functioning 16mm projectors but the gates aren’t hinged like your 35mm gate is. That seems like an ideal solution.

Here is what our 16mm gate currently looks like.

Matthew, hopefully you’ll take this as constructive criticism. Also realize, I’m not a professional in any of this, and these are just by thoughts based on the limited knowledge I have.

I’d like to understand more about why you’ve chosen to have the reels lay horizontally than vertically. I believe this is leading to more expense and potential risk of failure due to the bearings.

The bearings you’ve chosen, I believe are actually pillow bearings, but may indeed be a needle bearing internally. Either way, mounting them as you’ve done doesn’t seem to fit with their design intent. I think they are only really meant to support radial loads vs axial ones.

In addition to potentially using the wrong type of bearing, it’s also increasing cost because you need one on each side of the platform. There are tapered bearings that can support both axial and radial loads. Mounting the reel/plate on one of these could allow you to use only a single bearing and you wouldn’t risk popping the bearing apart by putting axial load on a bearing that wasn’t meant to bear it.