Introduce yourself

Hi all. Use this thread to introduce yourself to the group. Here are some simple questions that might help you write your intro:

• what brought you to Kinograph?
  • what are you most excited about?
  • what skills/knowledge can you offer others on the forum?

Thanks for joining!

-Matthew Epler

I’ll start!

I’m an amateur maker and archivist. My day job is software engineering, but that came as a late career change after a few others, including teaching film history, fabrication, and designing products and services for international non-profits.

I came to Kinograph because I was teaching in Jordan and found a bunch of abandoned films. Later, built a prototype Kinograph that could eventually be used to scan those films. I hope to return to Jordan in 2020 with version 2 of Kinograph to do just that.

I can offer my past experience as a projectionist, and my experience as a digital fabricator (laser cutting, 3D modeling and printing, electronics). I’m a generalist and interested in how things work, but I do not claim to be an expert in anything.

I’m excited about making the community around Kinograph inclusive and fun. If you have ideas on how to do that, I’d love to hear them!

Hi all,

I’m Gunther Weygers from Belgium (Brasschaat to be exact). And I have always an interest in movies in general, in how it’s made. I even made my own (first) Blu-ray with menus and a special feature for a local choir. I have some gear to work with like microphones and a field recorder, Canon 6D,…

But the interest of scanning film reels and restoring them came from year’s back but it was just in the back of my head because it’s too expensive to get a decent machine but around 2015/16 I came across Kinograph and since then I’m following the progress behind the corner but since the end of October I’m actively helping in this community with my findings!