Machine Vision cameras/ Mirrorless DSLR for 4K

First Post of mine coming up!

Glad to be apart of the community, as there is a lot of great discussion happening.

I am gearing up to get my feet wet in my first Kinograph build and want to hammer out some finer details before proceeding.
I have a lot of experience with machine vision cameras in combination with The Retro Scan Universal system. I know that machine vision cameras are highly recommended for this application and I understand why, they are compact, task dedicated, and offer a wide spectrum of affordability with quality. However, as 2K will age I want to implement a 4K system from the beginning and I am curious if some one can chime in if I have this wrong. I would assume that using a full frame mirror-less camera for image capture would be the best. I have been looking at buying a Sony A7R II for use with this as it would be slightly cheaper than a PGR Grasshopper, and could use it for other things.

So my question is:

Is a full frame mirror-less system over kill or too much hassle for what it is worth? or perhaps not adequate in terms of quality? ( My intuition tells me the latter is highly unlikely)

Thank you for your input!

@Owlinsky One important point on the discussion is what is the size of the film? that would give some context to the options. I used a DSLR, and one of the issues with DSLR and mirror-less camera is that the shutter has a finite life. I was willing to take the cost of the camera as part of the project, but it is a consideration. Having said that, I am very pleased with the results. See for your self, with an 8mm film, @4K. - YouTube

Hope the info is helpful.