I Have No Engineering Experience, Where Do I Start?

Hello everyone,

First off, I just want to say that I’m incredibly impressed with the polite and ambitious community you have built up here with Kinograph!

I’m a young writer/filmmaker with a deep artistic love of shooting on film, specifically 16mm!

However, I have no engineering or coding experience, and my technical experience is limited to troubleshooting with digital camera such as the Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera.

I am utterly impressed with @majumder’s 16mm scanner design, but I cannot seem to understand how it functions or how I should start attempting to create one on my own.

Is there any advice that anyone here has in terms of where to start? Can I build a simpler Kinograph that sacrifices some quality for a simpler build?

Thanks so much.

2 Likes

Hi @Luc_Hagopian. I’m so glad you’re here. I really want the Kinograph community to be a place where both technical and non-technical people can feel at-home and like they have something to contribute.

The short answer to your question is that there are three options I can think of:

a) ask @majumder for detailed documentation that can walk a non-technical person through building their own machine. I’m not intimately familiar with his build so I’m not sure if this is possible but it’s worth asking for. It’s a compliment to the maker that you want to try!

b) Wait for Kinograph v2, which should be ready by Summer/Fall 2021 (with full plans published by Spring 2021, which you could use to build your own, but which may not be come with full assembly instructions just yet).