Measuring tension

I’ve got many years of experience working with film so I have a good sense of when the tension is too high or too low. But as I get further into the code for the 70mm scanner, I’m thinking I’d like to find a way to quantify this so I can measure the tensions in different scenarios.

For video and audio tape you use a Tentelometer for this, and we do have one, though I’ve never used it on film. I suppose it would work but the scale only goes up to 500g and I think the tension on film can probably go higher than that in some cases.

has anyone found a tool suitable for this?

I tried the Tentelometer we have here but because it’s engineered for videotape (which is incredibly thin), just sliding film in there shows a reading, before you apply any tension to the film. I’d love to find a similar device that can handle thicker material.

I used a tension gig to calibrate the sensors in the project, which are swinging pots. Then the swinging pots do the job. If I understand correctly you are looking for something to move around the path.

Here is a tool that may do the job for up to 50mm ribbon.

@npiegdon had good results working with a load cell.

A 3 roller design as shown in the tension meter in the link, where the center roller is mounted in a load cell should do what you are looking for. Although one limitation would be that the range of the sensor would be limited by the range of the load cell.

Last option, there is always an arm, a pot, and a spring. The center roller (instead of a loadcell) may be the arm tensioned by a spring and measured by a pot.

2 Likes

Thanks. That gives me a little more to look for. I wonder i one of those Schmidt tools could be modified to take a wider film (Since I’d want to test 70mm).

The tentelometer I have now looks like this: